Cuddling Up with a Great Book

Cuddling Up with a Great Book

I love to read. When I was younger, I carried a book with me like a security blanket. If I ever felt uneasy, there was always a story to whisk my thoughts away. Nowadays I read fiction and nonfiction alike but a book that has really excited me is When Wanderers Cease to Roam by Vivian Swift. I received this book for Christmas from my dear friend Phyllis.

It’s not in your typical novel format. Rather, Vivian describes her life on the Long Island Sound month-by-month for a year. In each month are anecdotes, sketches, and musings about her life past and present. At the beginning of each calendar month I read the corresponding month in this book. This month I read about Vivan’s teacup collection and her brushes with tea shops all over the world.  Last month I read as she reminisced about her experiences hitchhiking in Europe and in January I learned how to “winterize” my mind.

Reading this book slows me down, inspires me to cease to roam.

2 thoughts on “Cuddling Up with a Great Book

  1. Awwww! You’re reading it! I thought it was a lovely little book . . . and it so reminded me of you. Roaming is good. Your heart will let you know when it’s time to settle down . . . or when you’ve found someone to roam with.

Leave a Reply

